7 Jul 2020

Home of the NFL Offseason

College Football Award Refinements

Look, we all know that some of the players who won awards last night probably shouldn’t have won them over the other candidates. Let’s talk about these players for a couple of the awards.

College Football has become a major money making industry. The profits that schools rake in is a discussion for another day, but it’s the first item to the topic that must be pointed out. Because of the amount of money that college football generates, the background work to the sport has become a very political game, and it’s common knowledge to anyone who follows it. Is the Heisman Trophy awarded to the best player in college football, or is it a numbers game? Half of the people who vote on the award admit that they didn’t watch a lot of games.

Either way, any award in college football now has become a political game. They can’t award too many people from the same conference because then other conferences are upset and the fan-bases rage. This was so apparent on ESPN last night, and even through the emotional moments of camera shots showing players thanking their coaches and families, as proud parents watched on while tearing up.

Twitter is a blunt world. People take to it to express almost any feeling. Last night, during the award show, it happened for a couple of different awards.

The Outland Trophy

The Outland Trophy is awarded to the best interior lineman in college football, either side of the ball. Oregon offensive lineman Penei Sewell won the award on Thursday night over Auburn defensive tackle Derrick Brown. Immediately, twitter had something to say about it.

Penei Sewell became the first Oregon Duck to ever win the award, as well as the first Polynesian player to win the award. These are fantastic accomplishments, and Sewell was very good all season long, but Derrick Brown dominated this offensive line in week one, including Sewell.

Brown finished the season with 49 tackles, 11 for loss, 4 sacks, 4 passes defended, 2 forced fumbles and 2 fumble recoveries. If official quarterback pressure stats were kept on, I’m certain that number would be huge. However, because his numbers aren’t as good as some defensive tackles we have seen in college football, the board weighed his production over his tape, and handed Sewell the award.

Jim Thorpe Award

The Jim Thorpe Award is handed out annually to the best defensive back in college football. This year, the award was given to LSU safety Grant Delpit over Ohio State’s cornerback Jeff Okudah and LSU’s cornerback Kristain Fulton. Immediately, twitter had something to say about it.

Grant Delpit entered this season as the NFL Draft’s best safety prospect, but injuries and some shaky play (particularly his lack of effort tackling) have settled concerns over NFL teams in what exactly he can bring. On the other hand, Jeff Okudah has clearly been the best defensive back, rising from being a top ten cornerback prospect to one of the top two on most everyone’s boards. Okudah has been miles better than Delpit, both on tape and in his production.

As you can see, college football is more than a game. It’s a business and an industry. It’s a lot more than speaking truth and and giving awards where they deserve.

As Andrew Lind said in his tweet above, April’s draft will prove that.

Instagram did not return a 200.
%d bloggers like this: